If ye are prepared, ye shall not fear

I guess I’m not on top of current events enough these days to have known about the storms in the eastern U.S.  that cut power to millions of people. I find myself disinterested in the fact that TomKat is at an end; big surprise. Reading about Anderson Cooper being gay doesn’t do anything for me, as it’s none of my business and has absolutely nothing to do with my life. Cooper says he strives to be objective as a Reporter, and I do find value in that (lots, actually), but his personal life is his own to live. Colorado I know about, mostly from Facebook, not so oddly, but other news I have shied away from lately due to a reticence to subject myself to bias in reporting. But that’s another post.

As we look at events around the world, natural events, not man-made ones, I’m left with the impression that so many of us, myself included, are not yet prepared to face disasters. Do we have enough food or water to provide for ourselves? Do we have means with which to provide power and warmth (or cooling, as the case may be)? What if we’re away from home when disaster strikes? What if, God forbid, the situation turns ugly enough to where looters and marauders, after having emptied the markets and stores, turn to their neighbors? What if they come to your neighborhood? Are you and your family able to provide for your own safety? Do you know your neighbors? Does the neighborhood have a plan for safety and protection?

Planning for something removes the fear of not being prepared. Planning requires more than just a shopping list to fill the larder. Planning requires training and usage of emergency resources, in order to know what works and what does not. Planning requires consistent and persistent effort, much the same as requirements for maintaining good health and fitness. One workout or one healthy meal a week does not make for good fitness.

So, what resources then? I’m not making money on these, and perhaps I could, but here’s what works for me:

Survive In Place
Fastest Way To Prepare
Secrets Of Urban Survival
West Coast Seeds
Off The Grid
Simply Differently
Pathfinder School; YouTube videos galore, so do some research

One word of caution: Some plan for packing it all up and moving to a remote location. Bad idea. Stick with where you are, and make it work. Unless some idiot burns down your home, it remains your single best refuge.

That’s all I’ve got for now. Time to do some of your own creative thinking.

Go and do great things today!

About Mongo
Mongo only pawn in game of life.

2 Responses to If ye are prepared, ye shall not fear

  1. Pingback: If ye are prepared, ye shall not fear | The Lexicans

  2. Daryle LaMonica says:

    Glen Reynolds at Instapundit.com hits this topic a lot. Here’s another link that he reccomneded”

    http://www.survival-preps.com/

    Everybody thinks I’m crazy because I have a couple of boxes of MRE’s, a few 5gl bottles of water, a backup generator and some gas stored for that just-in-case moment.

Leave a Reply

