Memorial Day 2012

It is not a day for staying indoors here in sunny Tucson, but this is me leaving a butt mark (big as a tractor seat these days, too. Damn!) in a chair whilst typing away at the ‘puter. It’s a day off from slave labor, but other admin type work remains and won’t go away by itself.Thankfully, the days are longer at this time of year. I shall go out and play in a bit. I Promise.

Memorial Day. Parades, barbecues, fireworks at day’s end, and generally a happy gathering of family and friends to celebrate the arrival of summer. All such is a part of my life, as much as anyone else’s, I suppose, but this day becomes more poignant for me as the years go by.

I’m older now and certain friends I once knew are gone. Some were taken by age, others by disease, and yet others departed as a consequence of service and sacrifice. It is this last group that affects me most, probably because they made a choice that ultimately cost them their lives. As has been so oft quoted “They shall not grow old, as we who remain…”

For some reason I frequently take note of the direction of, and impact upon, people’s lives by the choices they make. While I do my best not to be judgmental, I can’t help but be amazed, if not dismayed, at the utter lack of cognizance that their freedom to act, to choose, or to simply exist, are all owed to the sacrifices made by those who serve.

If you ever find yourself so detached from what has been sacrificed for your our freedom, please do avail yourself of the opportunity to attend a military homecoming. Be it the return of an Infantry Battalion, a ship of war, or squadron of aircraft, just be there and absorb. Absorb the joy of a family receiving back into loving arms one who has been away for too long. Absorb the reunion of those who may have returned early due to injury with their comrades in arms. Absorb the looks on their faces. Absorb all you can…and appreciate, if you will, what it takes for We The People to have enduring freedom. I dare say that you’ll do more than absorb.

I’ll leave you with these from one of my heroes, one whom I revere and dearly miss:

“It is, in a way, an odd thing to honor those who died in defense of our country in wars far away. The imagination plays a trick. We see these soldiers in our mind as old and wise. We see them as something like the Founding Fathers, grave and gray-haired. But most of them were boys when they died, they gave up two lives — the one they were living and the one they would have lived. When they died, they gave up their chance to be husbands and fathers and grandfathers. They gave up their chance to be revered old men. They gave up everything for their county, for us. All we can do is remember.”

— Ronald Wilson Reagan – Remarks at Veteran’s Day ceremony, Arlington National Cemetery
Arlington, Virginia, November 11, 1985

Amongst the others I shall remember this day, I remember you, Lex. Captain Carroll LeFon USN
Blessed journey, my friend.
For strength!

About Mongo
Mongo only pawn in game of life.

One Response to Memorial Day 2012

  1. Justthisguy says:

    Oh, and Jameson’s, too, for courage. Where I live, Memorial Day was April 26. I really do not celebrate the Yankee so-called Memorial Day. Deo Vindice.

Leave a Reply

