Obama’s West Wing Civil War

A rather catchy read about a little brouhaha taking place in The West Wing, and all of it shared in such a way as to leave the reader thinking that this would be a helluva lot better show than Martin Sheen and crew ever portrayed. And I do mean.Ever. Given that any part of the story is true, one has to wonder how this ship of state hasn’t broken its back already in shoal waters.

The main part of the story focuses on the ongoing power struggle between Bill Daley, White House Chief of Staff, and one Valerie Jarrett, Senior Advisor to the President, and, so far, Jarrett ain’t doing so well. Both are out of Chicago (Is anyone surprised? No? Didn’t think so.), both have learned to play in power circles, but Daley has learned the art of blowing you off. Huge advantage! Jarrett doesn’t like to be ignored or blown off, and can become very vocal about it. Daley just smiles and makes jokes in front of you. (Even though he’s from Chicago, I’m starting to like this guy.)

Throughout the article I’m amazed by the lack of command and control emanating from the Oval Office, although I probably should not be, and just a little astonished(?) at the amount of influence coming out of Chicago to settle scores, to get people to do certain ‘things’, and direct national policy. The article makes it clear that Bill Daley knows the secret knock to the Star Chamber in Chicago, and even the President knows enough to mind his manners around his Chief of Staff.

Who in Chicago could be that damned powerful? Chalk it up to my ignorance, but who is this person or enclave?

At any rate, a delightful read, if not disconcerting, and I’m sure the reader will come away scratching their head in a WTF moment.

Me? I mostly laughed at the absurdity and childishness of it all. Mostly.

We’re in the best of hands a helluva shape.

About Mongo
Mongo only pawn in game of life.

2 Responses to Obama’s West Wing Civil War

  1. Justthisguy says:

    Why I drink. I want to be numb when they come for me.

  2. Quartermaster says:

    Why I wear a reflective fluorescent yellow vest. I want to be sure they see me when they hit me. I don’t want it botched.

    The Daley’s basically own Chicago and have for the better part of 50 years. That’s one town where it will take martial law and a bunch of hangings to clean it up.

Leave a Reply

